L R
Andy Guhl

Andy Guhl

Andy Guhl (*1952, St. Gallen, Switzerland) played double bass and percussion as a young teenager. At the age of 16 he turned to electronics and began experimenting with the sounds generated using low-voltage current and soldering technology. At the same time he was also taking lessons in classical double bass. He played in a duo, initially with various friends; then, in 1972, he began to form small improvisation ensembles with Gieri Battaglia, Norbert Möslang, Herbi and Bernhard Leuthold. The Möslang/Guhl formation first performed at amateur festivals; in 1977, they took part in the free-music festival organised by Free Music Production in Berlin, where the Deep Voices LP was recorded. Andy Guhl was also a founding member of Switzerland’s first musicians’ co-operative.
In 1984 the duo became Voice Crack, occasionally featuring additional musicians such as Stephan Wittwer, Carlos Zingaro and Günter Müller.
Voice Crack began cracking everyday electronics before developing the genre as cracked everyday electronics. By manipulating these objects to produce sounds, they broke down the traditional barrier between everyday items and musical instruments and their acoustic perception. In the 1990s the duo expanded their reach into visual representation of acoustic phenomena with several installations, including the Sound Shifting installation they presented at the 2001 Venice Biennale at the invitation of the Swiss Arts Council. In 2002 Andy Guhl began to branch out on his own with ever more innovative installations using audio-visual feedback in analogue electronic systems which he calls The Instrument, i.e. the expanded cracked everyday electronics. “For me, physics is a musical building block,” says Andy Guhl, “that allows you also to see what you’re hearing.”

Andy Guhl is a pioneer sound artist and one of the fathers of European electronic experimental music. As part of the Voice Crack and Poire_Z music formation, he has been a major influence on many generations of musicians and artists of the international underground and noise movements. He has released over 30 albums and performed at venues and exhibitions in more than 20 countries.
FaLang translation system by Faboba

L R
Andy Guhl

Andy Guhl

Andy Guhl (*1952, St. Gallen, Schweiz) spielte als Teenager Kontrabass und Schlagzeug. Mit 16 Jahren wandte er sich der Elektronik zu und begann mit Klängen zu experimentieren, die mithilfe der Schwachstrom- und Löttechnologie erzeugt wurden. Gleichzeitig nahm er klassischen Kontrabass-Unterricht. Er spielte zunächst mit verschiedenen Freunden in Duos; ab 1972 formierte er kleine Improvisationsensembles mit Gieri Battaglia, Norbert Möslang, Herbi und Bernhard Leuthold. Die Formation Möslang/Guhl trat zu Beginn an Amateurfestivals auf; 1977 nahm sie am Free Music Festival der Free Music Production in Berlin teil, wo das Album Deep Voices aufgenommen wurde. Andy Guhl war ausserdem Gründungsmitglied der ersten Musikerkooperative der Schweiz. 1984 ging aus dem Duo die Formation Voice Crack hervor, die zeitweise mit weiteren Musikern wie Stephan Wittwer, Carlos Zingaro und Günter Müller zusammenarbeitete.

Voice Crack begannen damit, alltäglichen elektronischen Geräten Geräusche zu entlocken, und prägten schliesslich den Begriff der „geknackten Alltagselektronik“. Durch die Manipulation dieser Objekte zur Klangerzeugung sprengten sie die traditionellen Grenzen zwischen Alltagsgegenständen und Musikinstrumenten sowie deren akustische Wahrnehmung. In den 1990er Jahren erweiterte das Duo seinen Aktionsradius und machte sich daran, akustische Phänomene in mehreren Installationen visuell darzustellen; dazu gehörte die Installation Sound Shifting, die es auf Einladung der Schweizer Kulturstiftung 2001 an der Biennale in Venedig zeigte. Ab 2002 experimentierte Andy Guhl auf eigene Faust mit immer innovativeren Installationen und unter Verwendung von audio-visuellen Rückkoppelungen in analogen elektronischen Systemen, die er The Instrument nannte, was soviel bedeutet wie erweiterte geknackte Alltagselektronik. „Für mich ist die Physik ein Baustein der Musik, der uns ermöglicht, das zu sehen, was wir hören“, sagt Andy Guhl.

Andy Guhl ist ein Sound Artist der ersten Stunde und gehört zu den europäischen Vätern der experimentellen elektronischen Musik. Als Mitglied der Formationen Voice Crack und Poire_Z beeinflusste er massgeblich mehrere Musiker- und Künstlergenerationen der internationalen Underground- und Noise-Bewegungen. Er hat über 30 Alben veröffentlicht und ist an künstlerischen Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen in mehr als 20 Ländern aufgetreten.

FaLang translation system by Faboba